SIMPLE PRESENT

DO / DOES

Affirmative

Negative

Interrogative

I watch TV.

I don’t watch TV.

Do I watch TV?

You watch TV.

You don’t watch TV.

Do you watch TV?

He watches TV.

He doesn’t watch TV.

Does he watch TV?

She watches TV.

She doesn’t watch TV.

Does she watch TV?

It watches TV.

It doesn’t watch TV.

Does it watch TV?

We watch TV.

We don’t watch TV.

Do we watch TV?

You watch TV.

You don’t watch TV.

Do you watch TV?

They watch TV.

They don’t watch TV.

Do they watch TV?

NOTES:

  • DO / DOES are used in the Simple Present Tense in the Negative and Interrogative form when we don’t have Verb TO BE in the sentence .
  • For I, YOU, WE, THEY use DO / DON’T.
  • For HE, SHE, IT ( = 3rd person) use DOES / DOESN’T.
  • In the affirmative S / ES or IES is added to the verb in the 3rd person, but in the Negative and in the Interrogative the verb loses it because there’s the auxiliary verb (DOES / DOESN’T) indicating the 3rd person.

Example:

Affirmative She loves Michael. (She = 3rd person) Negative She doesn’t love Michael.

Interrogative – Does she love Michael?

  • When you ask a question with the auxiliary verb DO / DOES, you answer the question with DO / DOES too.

There are two types of answers:

Complete answer: Ex: A: Do you like sausages?   –   B: Yes, I like sausages.

Short Answer: Ex: A: Do you like sausages?   –   B: Yes, I do.

The 3rd Person

        Generally, in the Simple Present Tense an S is added to the verb in the 3rd person (He, She, It).

Ex: I dance – She dances

        When the verb ends in Y preceded by a consonant, it loses the Y and an IES is added to the verb.

Ex: I study – She studies

When the verb ends in Y preceded by a vowel just add an S to it.

Ex: I play – She plays.

When the verb ends in SS, SH, CH, X, Z, add ES to it.

Ex: I kiss She kisses

I brush She brushes

I watch She watches

I fix She fixes

They buzz It buzzes

When the verb ends in O preceded by a consonant, add ES to it.

Ex: I do – She does

When the verb ends in O preceded by a vowel, add S to it.

Ex: I radio – She radios

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

